Professor Nick Robinson

Executive Committee

School of Politics and International Studies
University of Leeds
Social Sciences Building
Leeds, LS2 9JT
Contact Details
+44(0)113 343 4790
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Dr Vicki Squire

Executive Committee

Department of Politics and International Studies
Social Sciences Building,
The University of Warwick,
Contact Details
+44(0)24761 51977
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 University Profile


Distinguished Contribution Prize Recipients


Year Name/Department Institution
2019   No prize awarded
2018 Professor Ken Booth Aberwyswyth University
2017 Professor Mary Kaldor London School of Economics
2016 Professor Barry Buzan London School of Economics
2015 Inaugural Prize Professor Kimberley Hutchings Queen Mary, University of London


Distinguished Contribution Prize


The Distinguished Contribution Prize recognises an individual’s contribution to the promotion of excellence in the discipline of International Studies over a substantial period of time. The recipient will have made a contribution of demonstrable distinction to the intellectual development and the leadership of the discipline, with a record of achievement that is recognised as having added considerable prestige to International Studies in the UK and beyond.


  • The recipient will be recognised at the British International Studies Association Awards Ceremony at the annual conference in June.
  • The recipient will receive a glass plaque.

Selection Process

  • A selection panel is formed chaired by the BISA Honorary President and reporting to the BISA Executive Committee. The panel takes soundings across the discipline and makes a recommendation to the Executive Committee.  We reserve the right not to give the award in any given year.

PG Excellence in Teaching IS prize recipients


Year Name/Department Institution
2019 Cornelia-Adriana Baciu Dublin City University
2018 Tom Watts University of Kent
2017   No Prize awarded
2016 Peter Finn Kingston University
2015 Paul Tobin University of York
2014   Adjustment for change of conference date
2013 Victoria Loughlon University of Edinburgh
2012 Robyn Klingler Vidra London School of Economics


British International Studies Association


Charity No:1151260
Company no: 8422260
Registered office: University Of Birmingham Room 650, 6th Floor, Muirhead Tower, Edgbaston, Birmingham, England, B15 2TT